Author Topic: Idles great, dies when I drop into gear  (Read 4120 times)

Offline soultech

Idles great, dies when I drop into gear
« on: June 24, 2017, 03:11:55 PM »
Hey there. Just got my carb back from a rebuild here at CHP and mounted it. Looking for a little guidance to get it tuned now. Sorry for my ignorance, I've never tried tuning a carb before.

Model Q-Jet 71085213
86 Chevy K20 Silverado, 350 engine

Problem: The truck idles great, but when I drop it into gear the engine stumbles and frequently dies. I had a ton of other problems before the rebuild, but this one seems different.  If I goose the gas when the stumbling starts sometimes I can keep it running.  Other times it just dies. 

Also, sometimes when I leave it idling after a good 10 min warm up and short drive, it will idle for 5 or 10 mins (or just fine for some amount of time anyway) and then it starts slowing down and dies.

The only thing I've done since I mounted the carb is I had to lower the idle speed as it was really high after initial startup.  Other than that I've not tweaked any other screws or settings.

I did a quick google and came up with a couple of potential causes:
  • Vacuum leak on one of the larger 3/8" hoses might be enough to kill the engine when I drop it into gear.
  • Idle mixture screws might need adjustment

Examined all the vacuum tubes, they definitely not new but there's no glaringly cracked or warped hoses, they fit snugly on their fittings.

I traced the vacuum lines using the air cleaner routing diagram and it looks like everything's hooked back up correctly. Also I took pics before I removed the carb and labeled the hoses so I could know that I restored them to their proper locations when I remounted the carb.

Just wondered if there's any tips / guidance web links or faq's on how to tune the carb once I get it back from the rebuild and install it?

Thanks for any help.

Regards, Scott

Offline 77cruiser

• Qjet Hero
Re: Idles great, dies when I drop into gear