Author Topic: Marine application - 1980 Mercrusier 260 idle OK under load, high in neutral  (Read 3719 times)

Offline CanyonDoug

• Garage guy
Besides being a newb here, I am no mechanic but trying to see what's up before I bite the bullet on a re-build, that may not be the problem.

Have changed fuel separator and cleaned filter at carb.  When cold, engine idles at about 600... as it warms it gets to 1200-1300.... only because when I set the idle while in gear, in the water with a warm engine at 650-700.  Have tried doing what i could with richness mixture, about 3.5 turns out on each.  Guessing something to do with idle circuit only, because seems to run smoothly under acceleration and at wot.  at about mid-range I did try quickly nailing it and there seemed to be a momentary hesitation but then took right off.... boat is new to me, so haven't really been nailing it other than smoothly bringing up to speed.  Does top out nicely at around 4400 - 4500 and runs strong at that speed... runs cool now that I had an impeller put in the drive unit.

What  do i look for to figure out if this is a carb issue?  Seems no vac advance on these.  No idea about timing and dwell, don't even have a light to check but can get it done.  Just don't want to throw parts at it until I am fairly confident I am going to solve the issue.   Previous owner said engine had been rebuilt prior to him buying it... with about 15 hours.  But, no paperwork to prove it. And I suppose that doesn't mean the carb was touched.  Might very well need a going-over, but would be disappointed to do that and have the problem remain.  Thinking this is either an idle circuit issue, or maybe vacuum leak elsewhere...?

Offline Cliff Ruggles

• Administrator
  • Qjet Hero
What is the carburetor part number?

Offline CanyonDoug

• Garage guy